Skip navigation

As I was sitting in the common area of the Economics Building the fire alarm went off. During this time there were two lecture halls adjacent to me full of students. Everyone in the common area began packing their belongings to exit the building. By the time we started going up the stairs the alarmed was turned off. It was a false alarm so we returned to our previous seats and continued what we were doing.

What is so interesting about this?

  • To the best of my knowledge, there was no notice of a fire drill.
  • With regards to the adjacent lecture halls: One holds about 500 students; the other, about 200.
  • Not a single student exited either lecture hall.
  • The lecturers in each lecture hall continued lecturing.

I know that it couldn’t be that they didn’t hear the fire alarm in the lecture halls. How do I know this? Here’s how: I had to take my hearing aids out because the noise was so loud. Without my hearing aids, I was able to hear the alarm very clearly. Now please understand: if you would like to have a conversation with me while not reading your lips, you will have to stand next to me either to the right or the left and yell for me to hear you. Now depending on the background noise, I may either understand some of the words you are saying or recognize that you are trying to converse with me but not understand a thing you say.

Am I the only one to see something wrong with this?

Leave a Reply

